> Ayurveda

Directorate of Indian Medicine and Homoeopathy

Ayurveda is an ancient system of medicine, which originated in northern India antiquity of which dates back to the period of vedas and this is said to be born from Atharva Veda. This knowledge has been gathered due to constant observation of nature for long years by men since the advent of civilization and cannot be attributed to any individual or a group of individuals by any stretch of imagination. Ayurveda is basically based on the predominance of three humours namely Vatha, Pittha and Kapha in the human body. Balanced state of these doshas denotes health and their imbalance produces disease.

Preceptors like Charaka, Susrutha have been benevolent enough to compile these invaluable treasure troves of knowledge to be passed on to posterity. The fact that Ayurveda has stood the test of time bears ample testimony to its efficacy till date.

It comprises of eight branches namely.

        1. Kaya Chikitsa (General Medicine)
        2. Kaumara Bhruthya (Paediatrics)
        3. Bhutha Vidhya (Psychiatry)
        4. Salakya (ENT and Ophthalmology and dentistry)
        5. Shalya (Surgery)
        6. Agada Tantra (Toxicology)
        7. Rasayana (Rejuvenation Therapy)
        8. Vajeekarana (Aphrodisiac therapy)

Pancha karma one of the areas of specialization, which has earned public acclaim in recent times, is also a part of the above branches. It enjoys popularity because of its being a hands on therapy and is very relaxing to the fatigued body and tired mind.